The Trade Union for the Public and Welfare Sectors JHL is a trade union for people working in the public services and private welfare services sectors.

JHLn organisaatio englanti 2017 rgb


The JHL Union Council consists of 120 representatives elected by direct ballot. The organising meeting of the Union Council elects the President, the two Chief Executive Officers and the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee consists of 23 representatives in addition to the President and one of the Chief Executive Officers.

The term for all those elected is five years.

Organisational members

JHL has four organisational members, which are separate unions within JHL:

  • the Finnish Customs Officers’ Union
  • the Finnish Prison Officers’ Union
  • the Finnish Non-Commissioned Officers’ (NCOs’) Union
  • the Border Security Union