Organisation chart 


The Union Council consists of 120 representatives elected by direct ballot. The organising meeting of the Union Council elects the President, the two Chief Executive Officers and the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee consists of 23 representatives in addition to the President and one of the Chief Executive Officers.

The term for all those elected is five years.

Organisational members

JHL has three organisational members, which are separate unions within JHL:

  • the Finnish Customs Officers’ Union
  • the Finnish Prison Officers’ Union
  • the Finnish Non-Commissioned Officers' (NCOs') Union
  • the Border security Union

The JHL Institute

The JHL Institute is a training centre providing continuing education and training for shop stewards and union officers in the municipal sector. In addition, the Institute helps municipalities to improve their leadership, personnel management, municipal finances and the quality of working life.

The JHL Institute is located in Helsinki, in the JHL headquarters.


Latest update: 11/17/14

Latest Updates

3/29/17 In English » JHL Membership » Membership benefits » Publications
10/18/16 In English » JHL Membership » Unemployment fund » If you become unemployed
6/9/16 In English » JHL Membership » Join JHL
1/18/16 In English » At work » International affairs
1/18/16 In English » At work » Joint consultation
1/18/16 In English » At work » Employment issues
1/4/16 In English » JHL Membership » Membership benefits
12/21/15 In English » Participate » Participating
12/21/15 In English » At work » Occupational health and safety
12/21/15 In English » At work » Basics of working life